UPDATE: Ys VIII: Lacrimosa of Dana PlayStation 5 Content; Japan-Only DLC Included, Keyboard + Mouse Support, Christmas Album & More

As part of NIS America’s planned week of Falcom-related news, the publisher has summarized information fans should know regarding the upcoming native PlayStation 5 version of Ys VIII: Lacrimosa of Dana. Some of this news was previously revealed, but the announcements have been largely scattered, so this is a convenient information round-up of sorts. Plus, there’s a decent chunk of new details.

UPDATE: 11/8/2022: NIS America has published a blog post detailing the PS5 version’s features.

Firstly, all DLC cosmetics from previous versions of the game will be freely available in this release, even the formerly Japanese-only content. The list of cosmetic DLC set to be included in the PS5 version is below:

  • Adol’s ‘Silver Armor’ Costume
  • Adol’s ‘Adventurer Clothes’ Costume
  • Laxia’s ‘Eternian Scholar’ Costume
  • Laxia’s ‘Greek Summer’ Costume
  • Laxia’s ‘School Swimsuit’ Costume
  • Tropic Swimwear Costume Set
    • For Adol, Laxia, Dana, and Ricotta
  • Deserted Pirate Costume Set
    • For Adol, Laxia, Sahad, Hummel, Dana, and Ricotta
  • Hug Hug Accessory Set
    • Feena, Lilia, and Dark, Instructor Rean
  • Ancient Mask Set
  • Stylish Glasses Set
  • Stylish Sunglasses Set

Moreover, improvements from the Ys VIII: Lacrimosa of Dana PC Steam release will be implemented, like enhanced draw distance, cleaner shadows, and quicker loading times. 120 fps at 1080p and 60 fps at 4K will be there as well. Higher quality textures and mitigated pop-in will also allow for a smoother gameplay experience.

Interestingly, the PlayStation 5 version has been confirmed to receive keyboard and mouse support, too.

Lastly, the previously confirmed addition of the Ys VIII Christmas of Dana album will be a digital download code for all physical shipments. For those unaware, this was an album that launched in Japan on November 30, 2018, comprising two songs. Both tracks’ names, runtimes, and associated musicians are listed below:

  • Lacrimosa of Dana -Christmas-: Originally composed and arranged by Yukihiro Jindo: 2:51 runtime
  • Iclucian Dance -Christmas-: Originally composed and arranged by Mitsuo Singa: 3:32 runtime

If you’re curious, you can give these two songs a listen on Spotify.

UPDATE: NIS America has shared new screenshots of this incoming PlayStation 5 release, viewable via our gallery below:

NIS America has stated this week to be full of Falcom news, so keep an eye on our coverage for further announcements. We will update this article with more screenshots if provided.

ys viii

This post may contain Amazon affiliate links. As an Amazon Associate Noisy Pixel earns from qualifying purchases.

Orpheus Joshua

Random gamer equally confused by the mainstream and the unusual. Fan of JRPGs, Action, Platformers, Rhythm, and Adventure titles.