Star Wars: Squadrons Explains Progression Where Rewards are Earned “Solely Through Play”

EA shared new details about the upcoming Motive Studios-developed first-person space dogfighting game, Star Wars: Squadrons, on PlayStation 4, Xbox One, and PC-via Origin, Steam, and the Epic Games Store on October 2. The game will also be playable in VR on PSVR and PC with cross-play support.

The publisher details progression in the game and how rewards, unlocks, and levels are acquired based on how many hours that you put into the game. Star Wars: Squadrons is an online experience where players can earn levels and points through various means. By completing tasks, players will earn Glory, a currency only earned by playing, which unlocks cosmetics.

Everything a player does rewards with XP, and when they level up, they’ll earn Requisition, which is a currency that unlocks ship components.

Outside of matches, players can earn rewards by completing Challenges, which come in Daily and Operation Challenges. These are timed and rotating objectives to aim for during matches. These encourage players to try different ships and components, which will earn them Glory. On the other hand, Operation Challenges also reward cosmetics.

Operations are 8-week cycles that happen in Squadrons, and each Operation brings with it a set of unique cosmetic rewards that can only be earned by completing its Challenges. Specific Challenges also offer unique rewards, too, so once they’re gone, you won’t be able to get the cosmetic unless the Operation Challenges return one day.

Also tied into these 8-week resets is your Fleet Battles rank. With every Operation’s conclusion and the start of a new one, your competitive rank tied to Fleet Battles will reset, allowing for a regular reassessment of your skills. To get your first rank, you’ll need to play in ten placement matches.

The ranks are as follows from lowest to highest:

  • Maverick
  • Hotshot
  • Hero
  • Valiant
  • Legend
  • Galactic Ace

Star Wars: Squadrons has players enlist as starfighter pilots as the story picks up after the events of Star Wars: Return of the Jedi. Each mission will begin in the briefing room as players prepare for a 5v5 multiplayer space battle to destroy an enemy’s fleet. Players will be able to deeply customize their ships as victories are rewarded with components and items.

The game will also feature a single-player experience follow the Battle of Endor when the Rebel Alliance has successfully destroyed the Death Star II. During the story, players will serve as in the New Republic’s Vanguard Squadron as they fight against the Galactic Empire.

Star Wars: Squadrons will launch for $39.99.

This post may contain Amazon affiliate links. As an Amazon Associate Noisy Pixel earns from qualifying purchases.

Azario Lopez

Hanging out max, relaxing all cool.