Square Enix Announces SaGa Broadcast Discussing Franchise’s Future; Occurring End of May

Square Enix has announced that an official SaGa series broadcast is scheduled to air on May 31, 2022, at 19:00 JST/ 6 AM EDT/ 3 AM PDT. The franchise’s future will be discussed at length, with no specific details being revealed yet.

You can set a reminder for this upcoming live stream via Youtube below:

One of the more recent releases, Collection of SaGa Final Fantasy Legend, includes The Final Fantasy Legend, Final Fantasy Legend II, and Final Fantasy Legend III. Each game was created by Akitoshi Kawazu and was initially released on Game Boy beginning in 1989. The SaGa series used the Final Fantasy Legend title in hopes of being more popular in the west.

In a live streamSaGa series creator Akitoshi Kawazu stated plans to remaster several other titles in the series, including the original Romancing SaGa, SaGa Frontier 2, and Unlimited SaGa. Among them, SaGa Frontier 2 is considered to be the most approachable title, but no release window was provided. Looking back, Unlimited SaGa was not received, so it’ll be interesting if they approach this title with new systems and features to improve it.

In case you missed it, check out our review for Collection of SaGa Final Fantasy Legend.


This post may contain Amazon affiliate links. As an Amazon Associate Noisy Pixel earns from qualifying purchases.

Orpheus Joshua

Random gamer equally confused by the mainstream and the unusual. Fan of JRPGs, Action, Platformers, Rhythm, and Adventure titles.