Sonic Superstars Reveals Chaos Emerald Abilities, Character-Specific Levels & More

Game Informer recently shared a plethora of new information for the upcoming 2.5D platformer by Sega and Sonic Team, Sonic Superstars, across 12 pages of its 358th issue.

Firstly, the powers granted by the seven Chaos Emeralds were revealed, listed below—immense thanks to Tails Channel for compiling this information.

Avatar (Blue Emerald)

  • Allows you to create clones of yourself.

Bullet (Red Emerald)

  • Allows you to direct and shoot your character in a specified direction.

Water (Cyan Emerald)

  • Allows you to interact with any body of water, like swimming freely underwater or climbing up waterfalls.

Ivy (Green Emerald)

  • Allows you to grow upward vines.
  • Can also be used to help teammates in co-op mode.

Vision (Purple Emerald)

  • Allows you to see hidden objects like platforms, rings, or items found in the level.

Slow (Yellow Emerald)

  • Allows the player to slow down everything on screen.

Extra (White Emerald) – Unlocks Character-Specific Cctions

  • Sonic – Homing Attack: Unlocks the Homing Attack from the modern titles.
  • Tails Tornado Spin: Unlocks a devastating tornado attack that can destroy enemies in front of you.
  • Amy – Hammer Throw: Unlocks the ability for Amy to throw hammers instead of the usual Hammer Swing.
  • Knuckles Punch: Unlocks the punch ability for Knuckles.

If one collects all of the Chaos Emeralds, the controlled character will reach their Super Form, granting invincibility and swifter speed.

Secondly, the playable cast will have their own character-specific Acts. These character-tailored levels may be built on the strengths of who you’re playing as. The following example was provided:

“…finishing Act 1 of Speed Jungle Zone as Sonic allows you to choose between either playing the second act of Speed Jungle or an “Act Sonic,” an alternate act of Speed Jungle where you zoom as Sonic, running away from a terrorizing Fang the Sniper.”

Also of note is how stages have a gold ring and a blue ring. Achieving the former provides a Chaos Emerald, while the latter gives a Medal. These medals can then be traded in at a shop to obtain cosmetics. Moreover, there seems to be a world map in the same style as Sonic Generations, where you reach levels as you run across a 2D area.

For more details, such as development insight and level names, check out Tails Channel’s coverage.

Sonic SUperstars 6

Sonic Superstars is a brand-new 2D adventure featuring Sonic, Tails, Knuckles, and Amy, taking place on the North Star Islands. New gameplay features include the Emerald Powers when Chaos Emeralds are acquired, such as enabling the ability to create clones or climb waterfalls.

Further, the visuals have received a notable upgrade, and Fang the Sniper from older Sonic the Hedgehog comics and video games, such as Sonic the Hedgehog Triple Trouble, will appear as an antagonist in Sonic Superstars.

Classic Sonic the Hedgehog designer Naoto Oshima has returned with a brand new villain. Fans can also anticipate “movements, physics, and controls feel familiar and appeal to recent and legacy fans alike.” Local four-player co-op will be available throughout the entire story, too.

Sonic Superstars will release digitally and physically for PlayStation 4, PlayStation 5, Xbox One, Xbox Series X|S, Nintendo Switch, and PC via Steam and the Epic Games Store in Fall 2023 for $59.99 USD.

This post may contain Amazon affiliate links. As an Amazon Associate Noisy Pixel earns from qualifying purchases.

Orpheus Joshua

Random gamer equally confused by the mainstream and the unusual.